Friday, April 27, 2007

Bancroft Winners Announced

The 2007 Bancroft Prize winners have been announced: they are Robert D. Richardson for William James: In the Maelstrom of American Modernism (Houghton Mifflin) and Jack Temple Kirby for Mockingbird Song: Ecological Landscapes of the South (University of North Carolina Press).

Columbia University administers the Bancroft Prize, one of the top honors for American books on history, biography and diplomacy. University Librarian James Neal said of this year's crop of nominated titles (more than 200 total) "Once again, we were very impressed by the number of excellent submissions covering a broad range of themes and are proud to honor this year’s winners. The Bancroft Prize is a celebration and affirmation of historical scholarship, the library, the book, the academic press and the reportedly threatened scholarly monograph."

Also announced yesterday was the winner of the Bancroft Dissertation Award: Columbia's own Kim Phillips-Fein took that honor for her work Top-Down Revolution: Businessmen, Intellectuals and Politicians Against the New Deal.

[h/t AHA Today]